Skip to content

Our Story

May 10, 2009

In January of this past year, I began looking through the adoptable Mustangs on the BLM website when my ES friend Amber posted some Mustangs she was interested in adopting. I stumbled across a quiet little grey mare that caught my attention. It was not the right time for me to buy a horse, and certainly not an untrained Mustang, but I could not get this face out of my head: 

 

lily blm pic

Amber found a beautiful two-year-old filly to adopt, and I was happy for her, but when someone else placed on a bid on the grey mare, I was more disappointed than I could describe. I went over my budget in my head again and again, and realized that even though money was tight for me, I could make the commitment to the mare that she deserved. I might not have the money for fancy tack or showing, but I could give her a good home with a pasture to run around in and a comfy stall, and I could make the commitment to take care of her and spoil her. I still didn’t feel up to being the one to start her training, though, as I had never started a horse before. 

By the time I realized this, though, the bidding was almost over and I didn’t get the chance to talk to Amber about what I had been going over in my head. I couldn’t fall asleep for the longest time that night, but when I did fall asleep the bidder was still from another state. I woke up the next morning to find the auction almost over and a Texas bidder was winning the auction. 

I didn’t want to jump to conclusions, but I knew then that Amber had bought my little grey mare. When we finally got to talk, we were on the same page: she would pick up the mare and work with her for about 90 days, and then I would take her home to live with me and continue her training. I immediately started thinking of names, but had a hard time finding something that fit when just thinking about barn names. I thought about Faith, but she didn’t look quite like a Faith to me. When I was mulling over ideas I came up with the name A Little Faith. I played around with spelling, and although I chose “Little” over “Lil” I got the name “Lily” out of it. 

I lived vicariously through her online updates for a long time, from the pick-up to her ground training to the first ride. I finally got to meet her in April. It was such a weird feeling meeting “my” horse, but it was amazing! It was difficult at first, because I was her second rider and it took us awhile to get used to each other. But she took the whole thing in stride, and never misbehaved besides a little stubborn streak. By the last day of the trip, I felt so bonded with her. When we left I wished I could bring her home with me. 

 

meandlilytx

 

meandlily

 Today Lily is on her way home. She was supposed to get here this evening, but because of storms in TN they had to wait for the weather to calm down and they will deliver her early tomorrow morning. I am so grateful for everything Amber has done and all the time and love she put into Lily. I’m excited to start spending time with her and training her and looking forward to updating our progress on here!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Frizzle permalink
    May 18, 2009 1:09 am

    Anni, I’m so happy for you two! It’s been great tracking Lily’s progress thus far, and I’m sure it will only get better. I can’t wait to see pics of you and Lily jumping the XC course @ Lamplight! 😉
    ~Meghann~

  2. amberp11703 permalink
    May 18, 2009 3:26 am

    Anni
    I cant wait to see pictures of Lily and you when she finally gets home. Thank you for letting me be a part of the adventure.
    Amber

  3. May 18, 2009 2:48 pm

    Yay for a Lily blog! I can’t wait to see the pics of her getting off the trailer at her new home!

  4. Nicole permalink
    May 18, 2009 5:34 pm

    Good luck, Anni! I can’t wait to see pictures of her in her new home with you!

    Ditto on Lamplight, though I can’t wait to see you there in person!

Leave a Reply

