Skip to content

Lily’s First Day Home

May 18, 2009

The haulers brought Lily home bright and early this morning. I was nervous at first that I wouldn’t be there when she got off the trailer because I got stuck in traffic (rush-hour traffic leaving Chicago, go figure!) but we ended up pulling right as they were. I’m pretty sure the haulers were in love with her, and the feeling was mutual! She unloaded like a pro and was looking to me for love right away. I was afraid she wouldn’t remember me right away, but she did.

We brought her to the round pen, which is right in the middle of the pastures and arena, so she could see everything, stretch her legs, roll (which she did right away!) and have a nice meal. She was looking skinny already when she got off the trailer, which makes me think that she is going through a big growth spurt. Here she is surveying her new home: 

Lily  - 1

She was so cute after she rolled she got a nice drink of water and munched hay while I groomed her. Eventually she stopped eating and her lower lip started hanging down and her leg was nice and relaxed. What an easy-going girl… it amazes me she could settle in that quickly! 

Lily  - 2

She saw the other horses grazing on the nice green grass and gave me a “hey, why do they  get all the good food?” look. I tried telling her she would be out there with them soon, but she wasn’t having any of it. 

Lily  - 3

Is that a jealous look or what? I think she’ll be happy to make some new friends. 

After spending some time just talking to her and grooming her I gave her and myself a break so I could grab some breakfast. She seemed really calm and happy still when I got back, so I thought I’d walk her around a little and introduce her to her new home. I was so proud of her when we went in the barn because it is kind of intimidating to horses at first: it’s an old barn with lots of long hallways and the door frame is a little narrow so there’s not much natural light right there. I let her stop and look inside for a minute because she was curious about everything, but as soon as I said “let’s go, girl” to her, she stepped right in and walked down the aisle like a pro. She was curious but not spooky at all, just taking everything in. 

We walked into the indoor arena and I let her roam to see what it was all about. She walked around sniffing everything and absolutely loved the window at the end. I grabbed a lawn chair and sat down for awhile while I let her explore. Within a few minutes she came up to me and put her head in my lap for some love. She looked so happy and relaxed I could not believe that she had just made such a long trip. 

No pictures from the indoor as it was kind of dark in there, but one to leave you with: 

Lily  - 4

She’ll get a nice comfy stall tonight and real turnout in a paddock tomorrow, which I’m sure she’ll love! I’m going out again early tomorrow so I’ll try to take some more pictures.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2009 9:48 pm

    Yeah! Lily is home!!!!!!

  2. Jerri Holcomb permalink
    May 18, 2009 10:34 pm

    YAY. Lily made it safely home. Sounds like you two had a wonderful day together.

  3. blueyedhorse permalink
    May 19, 2009 12:27 am

    Hurray, Lily made it!! I’m so happy for you, Anni 🙂 Sure looks like the haulers did an AbFab job getting her there for her to be so calm.

  4. alittlefaith16 permalink*
    May 19, 2009 1:20 am

    Thanks everyone, it was an amazing first day at her new home together, I can’t wait to see her again tomorrow. And I would definitely recommend the haulers, Tom and Crystal of Rockin’ K Ranch, they were wonderful.

  5. lauralite permalink
    May 19, 2009 1:26 am

    Wow, she looks so calm and relaxed. When I brought my latest addition home, he ran around like a madman. I’ve been following her story since Amber brought her home (though I mostly just lurk) and it has been very educational, eye-opening, and inspirational. Thank you so much for sharing!

  6. Frizzle permalink
    May 19, 2009 1:44 am

    Woohoo! She finally made it! Man, it sure sounds like you picked a great horse, Anni – I’m very impressed by how she calmly takes everything in stride. It speaks volumes about her attitude, not to mention her great upbringing (way to go, Amber!). Your farm looks really pretty, too – where are you bording her?
    Can’t wait for more 🙂
    ~Meghann~

  7. alittlefaith16 permalink*
    May 18, 2009 9:45 pm

    Meghann,
    She’s at my trainer’s place, CGC, which used to be Roamin B Bar K QH Ranch. It’s almost across the street from Our Day, just a tiny bit more toward Bowes Rd. I love it there! Took me forever, but I finally found “my” perfect place.
    I hope my updates can live up to Amber’s. 🙂

  8. amberp11703 permalink
    May 18, 2009 10:22 pm

    I was really impressed with the haulers too Anni. They were really nice and took to Lily right away.
    And you just gotta love that lazy lip 🙂
    She does look really drawn up. But if that is the worst thing that a “wild” mustang gets from the stress of a two day 1200 mile trip thats great. I am so proud that she was so brave and right at home. Its sound almost like she knew she was finally home.
    Give her a big kiss on the nose for me.
    The update torch is officially passed to you now 🙂

  9. Frizzle permalink
    May 18, 2009 10:28 pm

    First of all, I am shocked & embarassed by my mis-spelling of “boarding” in my previous comment. Lol. Hopefully, nobody will knock on my door and take back my English degree! 😛
    Anni, I can’t believe you’re going from Chicago all the way to Elgin! Now, that is some serious dedication, girl. How the heck do you manage to cram so much into your days?
    Oh, and P.S. It’s “Our Gay Farm,” not “Our Day Farm” according to the oh-so witty 12 year old girls @ my barn. 😉

  10. alittlefaith16 permalink*
    May 18, 2009 10:41 pm

    Meghann – One of my two jobs is in Elgin, so some days I’m out there anyway. Other times I leave early so that I can be back to the city for a 2 pm shift and/or class. Some nights I work night shifts, others I have night classes. So the home/sleep time is minimal, but it’s worth it!
    I have to admit, what money horses don’t get, Starbucks does. I could not imagine getting through a day without really strong coffee.
    & LOL at those girls… how original…

    Amber – she drank a lot today, so hopefully she will start looking better. I know the trip couldn’t have been easy on her without feed (they did say they gave her some last night, but I don’t think it was much) so hopefully she’ll start looking much better within the next few days.

  11. Jackson permalink
    May 19, 2009 10:02 am

    I’m so glad she settled in so well. That’s a long haul, especially for a horse who is “wild” (I’d say Amber is a “wild horse whisperer” from the amount of wild that is left in Lily).

    Do your classes end soon? I hope you get a chance to relax a little and enjoy your time with your new pony. You deserve it!

Leave a Reply

