Skip to content

Tough Day

May 19, 2009

I went out early this morning to see Lily and she gave me a scare. She looked exhausted, and was alternating between standing and laying down. My trainer said she had been doing that all morning. She was eating, but listlessly and not finishing her hay, and drinking but not nearly as much as I would have hoped . I hand grazed her for ten minutes and it wore her out to the point where she looked like it was an effort to walk. We gave her electrolytes and I put a salt block in for her, but it didn’t make a huge difference. She was laying down for a long time and didn’t look good, so we called the vet to see what she thought. She turned out to be right next door, so I had her come out and check Lily out. She gave her some Banamine because she was seeming a little colicy and took some bloodwork. She said it was probably just stress from having spring shots and trailering, especially since she had to be in the trailer the extra night. 

The banamine perked her up a lot. She got up enough strength that I could take her out and hand graze her again, and then I think being out in the sun really made her feel a lot better as well. I turned her out in a paddock by herself, and she really started seeming like her old self. She even started playing with the big tub her water was in, dragging it around and splashing the water. I stayed with her for awhile, and she seemed almost back to her old self. I didn’t have a halter on lead or anything on her, and I could get her to follow me wherever I walked. She did not look listless like she had before. We’re keeping a close eye on her, but I am hoping it was just stress catching up with her. 
 It was really hard seeing her that way. I hate when animals are sick or hurting, and you can’t ask them what’s wrong or make them feel better. I’m going out to see her again in the morning, I’ll update afterwards. 
12 Comments leave one →
  1. Jackson permalink
    May 19, 2009 10:06 pm

    Oh man, I’m so glad to hear that she perked back up. I know how scary it can be when there is something wrong, but you don’t quite know what it is.

  2. Amber permalink
    May 19, 2009 10:27 pm

    Tell my girl I am praying for her and I love her. I am glad to hear she was acting more like her old self when you left. Let me know if you need anything, you have my number!

  3. Frizzle permalink
    May 19, 2009 10:29 pm

    Whoa, sounds like a tough day, Anni. I’m so happy to hear that everything is okay and Lily’s feeling better. Like the vet said, she had been under a lot of stress over the last few days, so it’s not surprising that she felt a bit under the weather. I’m sure you’re breathing a sigh of relief that she’s alright, though – welcome to horse ownership! Lol. It can certainly be stressful at times, but the rewards are more than worth it. 😉

  4. Frizzle permalink
    May 19, 2009 10:31 pm

    Oh, and who’s your vet? Just wondering, because one of my friends is a vet tech for one of the equine vets up there. It would be pretty funny if she worked for your vet

  5. Jayne permalink
    May 19, 2009 10:35 pm

    I bet that was scary, seeing her like that. I was thinking as I read it that the long trailer ride probably had something to do with it. I hope she settles in well so you can relax.

  6. alittlefaith16 permalink*
    May 19, 2009 10:47 pm

    Thanks guys, I am so glad she perked up as well. I still cannot get that lethargic look out of my mind, it is so far from her normal look. But she was looking so much better before I left.
    The vet we called out is Margaret Rogers. I’ve never worked with her before but she does a lot of the work with my trainer’s rescues. She’s one of their many vets, haha, but the one they most highly recommended. Who does your friend work for? I’ve met several of the equine vets in the area through Miss Accident-Prone Julie. 😉

  7. Nicole permalink
    May 19, 2009 11:09 pm

    I completely know how you feel, Anni! Arizen had her baby today, which I am in the process of updating the forum now with some pics, and she hates the after birth pains. One cramp was so bad, she limped around the stall for five minutes. The look in her eye in the past few days was just heartbreaking.

    I’m so glad to hear that Lily is looking better. It’s hard to sit there and feel so helpless.

  8. alittlefaith16 permalink*
    May 19, 2009 11:11 pm

    Thanks Nicole. Yay for Rizzie having her baby! Can’t wait to see pics.

  9. Frizzle permalink
    May 19, 2009 11:41 pm

    I’m not sure what the vet’s last name is, because my friend always calls her by her first name…”Dr. Judy,” I think. I’ll find out what her last name is. My friend’s name is Meredith and she’s 6’1 with short, dark blonde hair – so, pretty hard to miss.
    We always worked a lot with Dr. Heinze, too…and, talk about a small world, he went to school with one of the equine vets down here that I used to work for.
    Again, so glad Lily’s okay – and hooray for Rizzie, too!

  10. alittlefaith16 permalink*
    May 19, 2009 11:49 pm

    Dr. Heinze is still really popular around here. I know a lot of people at Dassenbrook and Tower Hill used him.
    I’m relieved about Lily, too. I hope she is feeling even better when I go to see her in the morning.

  11. May 20, 2009 8:32 am

    Whew, glad she is feeling better. Hopefully it was just the stress.

  12. Jerri Holcomb permalink
    May 20, 2009 1:44 pm

    I’m glad she was perked up some when you left her. I know travelling can take a lot out of you. It sounds like you have her at a wonderful barn. 🙂
    Congrats to Rizzie also!

Leave a Reply

