Skip to content

Update on Lily

May 21, 2009

Yesterday morning Lily was looking great when I went out to see her – she has been eating with more gusto and has some spunk back in her (in her cute, wants-attention way, of course.) Unfortunately the vet called and let us know that the blood test came back and her white blood cell count is elevated. She seemed to think that Lily has had something for about a week, and that the trailering made it harder for her to fight it off. She does not have any sign of a temperature, and no discharge, but because we don’t know exactly what’s wrong and it could be airborne, she has to be quarantined and given SMZ’s twice a day for two weeks. At the end of the two weeks, the vet is going to come out and do the blood work again. If the white blood cell count is back to normal, she can go out with the other horses. I don’t really want to think about what will happen if it’s not/she starts showing other symptoms. 

We made her up a nice paddock that has a run-in and she is staying out there 24/7 for now. She seems much happier out there than she was in the stall for about 6 hours (at night) the two nights before. I am so grateful that she does not get too attached to other horses, because she has to be 100 yards away from them at all times. I pulled a lawn chair into her paddock and studied for a few hours yesterday, which she really seemed to like. She alternated between grazing the whole perimeter of the paddock (the neighbor’s grass was greener, of course) and coming to stick her head in my Psych book. 

She is learning fast that she doesn’t like SMZ’s. I didn’t have anything to mix them with the first two times I gave them to her, and this morning I mixed some honey in there. Unfortunately she still doesn’t really like the site of the syringe. She puts up with it but fixes me with this “how could you?” glare afterwards. I put a little of the honey on my hand afterwards because she was acting quite offended, and she just stood there reaching out her head and sniffing it suspiciously. My boyfriend, Ross, was out there with me today.  He doesn’t know much about horses but is a quick learner and likes me to show him how do to everything. When Lily went to sniff the syringe, she got a nose full of honey and before either of us could react, swung her head around and wiped it all on Ross. I’m always make sure she respects peoples’ personal space, but the looks on both of their faces were so funny I couldn’t help laughing. 

I’m still worried about her (and the vet bill that’s going to come out of all of this, ouch!) but it is good to see her happy. I hope she starts getting some more energy soon, she has been all about the eating and attention, but has not had much playfulness besides nudging around things as toys which she still loves to do – her water tub, my brush tote, etc. I guess that’s to be expected after a long haul and fighting off an infection, though, I certainly wouldn’t feel up to too much if I were her right now, either.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Frizzle permalink
    May 21, 2009 1:55 pm

    Anni, just wanted to send some good thoughts and positive energy your (and Lily’s!) way. So sorry to hear that she might have an infection, but hopefully it’s just a little bug. I’m glad that her temp is okay and she isn’t acting too uncomfortable.
    Also wanted to give you a tip about vet bills – whenever they come, they always say “complete balance due” or something similar, but it seems to be an unspoken rule with most vets that you can pay it off monthly. I know my vet charges a 1.5% interest rate on unpaid balances, but it’s so much easier than paying off big bills all at once. They never bother you as long as you are paying them something every month. Personally, I’m still paying off my $1500 February vet bill. Hopefully, from the sounds of it this bill shouldn’t be too bad, but just wanted to let you know for the future.
    ~Meghann~

  2. May 21, 2009 3:30 pm

    Get well soon, Lily!

  3. Nicole permalink
    May 21, 2009 6:33 pm

    I hope she is feeling better soon!

  4. alittlefaith16 permalink*
    May 21, 2009 7:03 pm

    Thanks guys. Corey did mention that this vet realllly bills later, and I do have some money saved up for an instance like this one. I was just hoping my emergency fund wouldn’t be depleted within the first 2 weeks of her being here. :/

  5. Amber permalink
    May 21, 2009 11:31 pm

    Anni if you keep an emergency fund they will make you spend it ASAP. I think that rule is on the first page of their handbook, lol.
    I am so glad she is feeling better. How is she looking now?

Leave a Reply

