Skip to content

A Better Day

May 22, 2009

Lily was much more full of energy today when I went out to see her than she has been the past few days. Lily adores the barn’s Border Collie and when she followed me up near the paddock, Lily arched her neck and started trotting around, stretching her nose out toward the dog. She has still been good about getting the SMZ’s, she seems to like them a little more with the honey and still comes willingly up to me even if I have the syringe – the only way she really acts up is to give me an offended “how could you?” look after she tastes it and pout for awhile. 

I had a lesson scheduled for today, and ended up riding the gelding that I was working with before Lily came up here. I was proud of him because manure was being spread and moved so there were lots of scary machines and he didn’t blink an eye. I have learned with him that almost nothing spooks him outside, but take him in an indoor arena and every noise is scary. Unfortunately the lesson was cut short because he’s been on a bit of a diet recently (to call him an easy keeper wouldn’t do him justice…) and his girth no longer fits him. We tried one other girth but it was too small, and I entertained the idea of hopping on bareback for about 10 seconds until I got onto the mounting block and realized there was no way I could scramble up there without a bigger, three-step mounting block. 

I went back out to spend some more time with Lily before I left and she ate up all the love I gave her. I rubbed her face and she got all droopy-eyed and relaxed and she stood there happily with the cutest look on her face. I am so glad she is feeling better but the dreaded things she could have (I don’t even want to THINK the S-word…) are still bothering me. I’m hoping that since she is feeling good, eating well, and gaining energy we are headed in the right direction.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Dance :) permalink
    May 22, 2009 6:54 pm

    So glad Lily is feeling better! So have you figured out what happened?

  2. Frizzle permalink
    May 22, 2009 7:06 pm

    So glad to hear that your pony is feeling better, Anni. And it sounds like she has a lap-dog, loving personality. 🙂 You sure chose well.
    OK, now, I may just be having a brain freeze…but I have no idea which S-word to which you are referring. ??

  3. alittlefaith16 permalink*
    May 22, 2009 7:15 pm

    Strangles. The vet mentioned that sometimes horses don’t show the obvious symptoms right away or at all (fever, discharge, lumps) and so I have been freaking out about it a little.

  4. alittlefaith16 permalink*
    May 22, 2009 7:16 pm

    Dance, we’re not sure yet, which is what’s keeping me worried! The vet said we may never know, that it might have just been a general infection from all the stress/reaction to the shots/trailering.

  5. Jackson permalink
    May 23, 2009 5:40 pm

    I’m so glad to hear that she is doing better. The S-word scares me so much! That is one of my biggest fears. Give her a hug and remind her that she is suppose to let you get a false sense of security before she pulls this kind of stuff!

Leave a Reply

