Skip to content

Looking Up!

May 23, 2009

I got to take Lily out and hand-graze her for awhile today. There’s short grass in her paddock, but she’s been chomping it all down (along with her hay and feed, she definitely has her appetite back!) and we want her to get used to more constant grazing. She was having a field day with it, but the mosquitos were really getting to me, they’ve been absolutely awful out here recently. 

She’s been feeling good enough that I felt like I could work with her on a couple of small things. She’s been a little antsy about fly spray, so we worked on “stand” (which she completely understands while I’m grooming her, of course, but the fly spray not so much!) for awhile. I like seeing how she learns because I ended spraying myself with some of the spray because I was being eaten alive and she looked at me like “hey, that wasn’t so bad for you.” It’s a fairly manageable paddock, so I started spraying around her and let her walk wherever she wanted, but just kept it up until she stopped and then I stood and loved on her for awhile. I went back to reading a book after that, and when I was hand grazing her again later I decided to try again with the fly spray. She stood perfectly still, no fussing or anything. I know it was just a refresher for her, but she got the idea quickly. She got lots of praise and love (and of course, her fill of grass) for being such a good girl today. 

I have noticed the past few days that she has been coming over to me to sleep. At first I was worried that she was feeling lethargic again, but I’ve seen her trotting around and my trainer noticed she had been perkier too, so I’m wondering if I am her “herd” right now, and she sees it as if I am standing watch over her when I’m reading in the chair. She napped with her head resting right on my shoulder for about five minutes today, but then she wanted to play with my book, her water, the chair…. everything in sight. So she is feeling good! 

I wanted to get some more pictures today, but realized I left the good camera in Chicago, so it probably won’t be until Tuesday or so that I get them. 

It just about breaks my heart when I leave every day, the last thing I see every time is her head up at the gate, gazing at me from far away. Usually she goes back to eating as soon as I’m back to the barn, but it makes me want to stay.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Frizzle permalink
    May 23, 2009 9:12 pm

    Yay! Sounds like she’s getting stronger and feeling better every day. 🙂
    I think you’re right about Lily thinking you’re her herd right now, and that is definitely a good thing. It’s probably comforting for her to have a familiar face around.

  2. Amber permalink
    May 24, 2009 9:08 pm

    You are definetly her herd. I love hearing about your bond growing more everyday!
    And I know about that dont leave me look. She can really make you feel bad cant she?

  3. alittlefaith16 permalink*
    May 25, 2009 9:37 am

    Yeah, it just about kills me to leave her. I love how excited she is when I walk out there, so many horses just don’t care when you come out to see them.

Leave a Reply

