Skip to content

Thursday Update

May 28, 2009

There must have been something in the weather today because all the horses were feeling their oats. Lily startled Corey today when he went out to feed her because when he shooed her away from pushing him for her food, she turned and let a buck fly right his head. So I’m glad she’s feeling good, but we’re definitely going to have to work on those food manners. I’m thinking that she was testing him, because she has been very respectful towards me, and anytime she tried to get pushy if I corrected her she listened right away. I have a feeling it has to do with her testing people, but since I worked with her in Texas and got over that testy phase, she hasn’t given me any problems. 

I had a lesson today, but since she’s still in solitary and on the SMZ’s I’m still working with the Quarter Horse gelding from before. He was spooking at everything on the ground and absolutely just a coiled spring today. Every once in awhile something just reverts him to that bundle of nerves, and today was one of those days. He is a horse that really responds well to seeing that you are the leader, and so I lunged him before I even tacked him up because he was scooting around and scaring himself silly when he bumped into or stepped on something. He responded right away to the lunging was fine under saddle. He seems to really get confidence from his rider and when doing ground work that gets his attention, such as the lunging, but as soon as I led him back to the middle room to untack him, everything in the world was scary. Any suggestions for this? It’s not usually such a problem, and his mindset is unique to me because he is the most drastic abuse case I have worked with. 

I did manage to snap a picture I really love of Lily. She is almost done with her rotation of SMZ’s, and the vet should be out soon to do the final exam/blood test. I am excited to start really working with her! Ross’s sister is getting married this weekend, so I will be really busy with all the fun things that go along with weddings like rehearsal dinners and bachelorette parties and won’t have much time for updates. 

mime-attachment

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2009 7:42 pm

    We are just dyyyyyyyyyyyying waiting to see piccies of you riding her!

  2. alittlefaith16 permalink*
    May 28, 2009 8:20 pm

    Trust me, not as much as I’m dying to ride her! But somehow I think riding her goes outside the quarantine instructions…

  3. Nicole permalink
    May 28, 2009 10:10 pm

    I second that! And I absolutely LOVE that picture of her! I have to tell you, she is turning out to be quite a nice looking horse, especially for a mustang in my opinion. 🙂

  4. Jackson permalink
    May 29, 2009 5:38 am

    That is a beautiful picture! If there is ANYTHING good about her having to be by herself for a while, it would have to be that you are getting great pictures of her!

  5. Frizzle permalink
    May 29, 2009 6:00 pm

    Wow, time sure flies – it seems like her two-week quarantine started yesterday. But I’m sure you’ll both be ecstatic when it’s over.
    Great pic, btw. But, yes, we are dying to see cute riding pics!

Leave a Reply

