Skip to content

Out and About

June 3, 2009

Today was Lily’s first official day of freedom since I was cooped up writing final papers all day yesterday. When I led her out of her pasture she was immediately perked up and ready to go. A couple of the geldings in the closest pastures were all a-quiver with their tails streaming behind them cantering up and down the fenceline to show off for her which she loved – she gave them a very aloof look with her head held high as if to say, “Keep looking, boys.” 

When we got to the barn she was a little jumpy again. I think after being outside so long being enclosed was weird to her. She’s so smart about everything though – she takes things in and processes them more than anything else. I had to laugh at her because when she was sniffing around at the grooming rail her head shot up and she bumped it right on the rail and then gave me this look like “what happened?” 

We went into the indoor again and she had a nice roll. I didn’t have a lunge line so I kind of free lunged her in a roundabout way – more advance/retreat style than anything – which she was actually amazing with. She went and did her floaty trot, got a few bucks out, lowered her head and when I turned in a little she walked up and asked for some love. She definitely has some spunk in her but I think her affection for people will always make her a treat to train. 

When we were walking back out of the barn she had an “OHMYGOD” moment because Ross walked around the corner behind us when she had been paying attention to everything just outside the doors. Her legs splayed out a little and she stopped dead, and then kind of peered behind me to see who was there. When she saw it was Ross she looked a little embarrassed of herself and straightened back up. She’s such a gawky little thing sometimes with the way she moves at this age, but it’s adorable.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    June 3, 2009 9:24 pm

    Lily is too cute. Hopefully, I can meet her one of these days! 🙂

  2. Amber permalink
    June 3, 2009 10:00 pm

    Sounds like you had a good day with her! I know she loved getting to go out.

  3. June 4, 2009 8:20 am

    I’m sure she will enjoy meeting new friends!

  4. June 4, 2009 10:06 am

    hey we are going to ad you as a favorite web site to our blog to:) ttyl ruth ann from horsechannel/navajo

  5. June 4, 2009 8:43 pm

    Hey hope you enjoy following my blog and I am too amazed at how good a good groundwork session can go and the results it brins. I am still working at lunging him with a line:) ttyl ruth ann n navajo from horsechannel

  6. June 11, 2009 8:43 am

    We want updates………….

  7. alittlefaith16 permalink*
    June 14, 2009 11:01 pm

    I’ll write out another update w/ pictures tomorrow… finals are just about coming to an end so hopefully I will have time then. I ended up having to work all weekend, so I’m just trying to balance the work/study equation right now. I did make time for Lily too, and she’s as adorable and happy as ever. 🙂

Leave a Reply

