Skip to content

First Lesson!

June 17, 2009

Sorry it’s been so long without an update! Between finals, work, Lily, and getting ready to move between apartments my life has been non-stop. I am also leaving bright and early Friday morning to go to Payson, AZ for the last of the wedding obligations. 

The good news is that Lily and I had our first lesson today with Corey. We worked on ground work today and getting her more responsive – ask, tell, demand – which is one of those things that I know in principle but needed someone to stand there and tell me I wasn’t being forceful enough. Once we got going, I was reminded of what a beautiful mover Lily is – and how much I love her. Corey and I were talking in the middle of the arena and letting her roam for a minute and before I know it there’s a grey nose right by my leg asking for attention. 

Lily is definitely one of the smartest horses I know. Before we started I had her tied up with a quick-release knot and was picking out her hooves. Corey was watching her and says to me, “You won’t believe what your horse is doing.” – she was undoing the knot with her teeth (successfully). 

I had a lesson with my trainer’s gelding after that and he was a little more of a brat. I love him to death, but he’s not the smartest horse. He gets spooked so easily and then the rest of the lesson it’s refocusing him and getting him to work, which is doable and necessary but such a pain because he is such a relaxing ride otherwise. 

Pictures as promised! Can you tell I have a hard time getting a picture because Lily is always just walking towards me?

Lily  - 10

Lily  - 11

Lily  - 13

Lily  - 16

I don’t know if you can tell, but she is growing! She has been eating and eating, and is filling out a little finally. The weight is starting to stick, too, which means she can go out with other horses now. Yay!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    June 17, 2009 9:12 pm

    It’s about time! I was wondering what was happening with Lily. I can’t wait to see you ride her, though!

  2. lauralite permalink
    June 17, 2009 9:17 pm

    She looks great. Love that picture of her at the fence — like she’s saying “Hey! Where are you going?”

  3. June 18, 2009 7:04 pm

    hey i started a wordpress accoutn also. come check it out:) i added you to my link:)

  4. Frizzle permalink
    June 18, 2009 8:09 pm

    Looks like Miss Lilly is doing well. Of course, now we insist on riding pics…and videos! Ya gotta give the people what they want. 😉
    I love the pic of her looking over the fence – she has such a sweet, sleepy expression on her face.

  5. alittlefaith16 permalink*
    June 18, 2009 9:04 pm

    That expression is the one that breaks my heart when I have to leave her! Glad you all enjoyed the pictures… I will do my best to get more action shots next week. I was especially sad today when I said goodbye because I won’t see her until Monday night since I’ll be in AZ. I climbed up on the fence and she rested her head on my shoulder for awhile.

  6. Amber permalink
    June 18, 2009 10:06 pm

    Anni I was missing her like crazy today! It was awesome to come on here and see pics 🙂
    She looks like she is getting lighter colored and taller. Have you measured her lately?

  7. June 19, 2009 2:40 pm

    Yeah an update! Now we want MORE MORE MORE!

Leave a Reply

