Skip to content

First Ride (in awhile!) and Some Hard Things

July 20, 2009

I went out to the barn this morning and went through some ground work with Lily. Every time we work together I can tell she is trying a little harder for me – I free lunged her in the indoor today tacked up, and after a few minutes she was so focused in on me that she was making a nice little lunge-line sized circle. Unfortunately my saddle is a little wide on her, which I didn’t notice when I first tacked her up awhile ago because of how my seat saver looks. I’m sure it’s because she still has some filling out to do, so I have to decide whether to have a saddle fitter out, or buy a ThinLine pad until she grows into it. Right now she is growing up (I want to stick her soon, I feel like she’s about 15.1) and so all her nutrients are going there. She is filling out a little more, but it’s a slow process! 

Anyway, I couldn’t resist hopping on her and walking and trotting a little. I didn’t want to do anything much because I know an ill-fitting saddle must not be comfortable, but she was still great. I mostly worked her on a long rein and let us get used to each other under saddle. No pictures of the ride since I was alone, but I took a few of her myself: 

photo

photo

Lily  - 22

The adorably obnoxious Halflinger is Benny, her boyfriend. 🙂

In not-so-happy news, it has been a tough week for the other animals around here. I help out with Ross’s sister’s cat rescue that she just started up, and a recent litter of kittens they received from a woman who found them in her backyard turned out to have distemper. The poor things were little balls of fur and so friendly. They were dehydrated, so we were giving them IV fluids, but besides that learning to trust people. Three of the four died within a few days of each other and then, because it is highly infectious, one of the kittens from another litter they had been caring for for awhile died. She was almost ready to be adopted out, and we were all attached to her. The other four kittens are still with us, and are to be quarantined for two weeks. After that, the vet said, they will be out of the woods. 

On the flip side, another “horse rescue” in the area went awry. The women no longer has enough money to feed the horses or pay someone to muck their stalls, and apparently has too much pride to tell anyone. My trainer was called there by a concerned boarder at this rescue who decided enough was enough and wanted to move her two horses. I was appalled when I saw them, they are skin and bone. How you could let your horse get to that point and just watch, I do not know. The woman has been reported, I’m hoping the state will act quickly. My trainer told me that the horses are now shut in their stalls all the time because then it is harder to see the horses and how they are doing, and no one will see them from the road. Clearly this woman KNOWS that she is abusing the poor horses, and has too much pride to do anything about it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amber permalink
    July 21, 2009 9:57 pm

    Lily has such good taste, I think her boyfriend is adorable! Tater of course would be very jealous but he took up with Kat after Lily left;)

    That is really sad about the rescue. And it is examples like that that give rescues a bad name. My horses will always eat before I do!

  2. alittlefaith16 permalink*
    July 21, 2009 10:47 pm

    Haha, I call Benny obnoxious because he is one of those horses who always wants to be up in your business and a good loud noise/whack with the lead rope deters him for maybe 15 seconds before he’s at it again.

    As for the rescue, I agree… it is a shame that so many people get a romantic notion of rescuing and decide to jump headfirst into it without research. What’s even more sad is that many of these same people put their pride before the welfare of the animals. I had some extra time after I worked with Lily today, so I went up to that grey and was talking to him and let him sniff me and rubbed his head a little. He is a very sweet boy, but still understandably spooked and flighty.

  3. Nicole permalink
    July 25, 2009 10:44 pm

    So exciting! I’m glad you got to get on her for a bit. I still can’t wait to see more riding pics!

  4. August 7, 2009 8:05 pm

    i hope those horses trust people after being abused. i don’t think i could do that. i would probably ask for help before i could see any aniaml go through that.

Leave a Reply

