Skip to content

One of Those Days

September 19, 2009

I had a very bittersweet day at the barn yesterday – had a wonderful time with Lily, and agreed with my trainer that I will be riding her in almost all of my lessons from now on. This is partially because the gelding that I have been riding is probably going to be re-homed soon. A woman is interested in him, and they are going through a trial period to see if they’re a good fit. He is by all means a wonderful horse, and deserves a great home with lots of attention, but I will be very sad to see him go. He is really the horse that gave me my confidence back and taught me how to feel true harmony between horse and rider. My time with him has helped me with Lily leaps and bounds. In that time, I also grew very attached to him.

When I walked out to the pasture yesterday, the two of them were grazing together. I always imagined having my own property with the two of them as buddies one day. He is a wonderful horse but not sound for more than flatwork and very low jumping, but he and Lily get along well and I would have loved to have taken both of them home one day.

This is one of the hardest things about loving horses – even when you have that one special horse, you can still form a partnership with another, and saying goodbye is still painful.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Frizzle permalink
    September 19, 2009 5:16 pm

    Aaaaw, Annie, I totally understand. Since I grew up riding my trainer’s horses and his clients’ horses, I had to say many good-byes over the years. It never gets any easier, but I’m always grateful for the time that I get to spend with them.
    I hope your gelding friend finds a loving forever home

  2. alittlefaith16 permalink*
    September 20, 2009 9:26 am

    Thanks, Friz, I grew up the same way and still remember my favorite gelding, a Quarab named Shea that I loved dearly. Just like my guy now, Shea taught me a lot and I will always remember him.

  3. Amberp11703 permalink
    September 20, 2009 9:34 pm

    It is really hard saying goodbye but when you know that they are well loved and cared for it makes it alot easier! And even more when you can follow their blog ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Can you talk to the lady who is adopting and ask her if she will let you have first oppurtunity to buy him if she ever has to sell?

  4. alittlefaith16 permalink*
    September 20, 2009 9:39 pm

    Amber, don’t know why I didn’t think of that. I think Hilary and Corey have the first chance under the adoption contract, but I’ll let them know. Back when I was talking to them about buying Lily, she told me they had hoped I would adopt him, so I’m sure they’d still be open to it. If money wasn’t an issue I would have already. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

