Skip to content

Missing My Girl

October 1, 2009

You wouldn’t think that being away from Lily for an extra day or two a week would make much of a difference, but lately I found myself wishing that Hilary and Corey wouldn’t mind me coming out for a midnight ride (and that I wouldn’t have to wake up at 6:30 the next morning…) On average, I see Lily about two or three days a week right now, and it’s harder than I expected. She doesn’t mind one bit – she has her pasture buddies to play with and as much grass as she could ask for, plus hay and feed twice a day and the attention of whoever is going to get a horse from the pasture (what can I say? My horse is a flirt.)

But I find myself making mental lists of what I want to do and work on, and then I am horribly disappointed when things don’t go as planned – if it rains so we can’t take a ride around the perimeter of the property (our “trail” work) or if I just run out of time. I’m daydreaming more and more of eventually having a property with Lily and a few others in a pasture in my backyard.

At least she is surprisingly laid-back for a young horse – there’s no difference between getting on her after she’s had four days off, and getting on her after consistent work. I’m guessing the 24/7 turnout helps, but part of it is just her personality.

How could I not miss this face?

photo-1

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amberp11703 permalink
    October 6, 2009 11:25 pm

    That is such a gorgeous face!

  2. Amberp11703 permalink
    October 6, 2009 11:27 pm

    Clicked reply to soon. I wanted to say that you can see her smile really well 🙂

  3. alittlefaith16 permalink*
    October 7, 2009 9:35 am

    I know, she has one of the most expressive faces I’ve ever seen!

  4. October 13, 2009 9:10 pm

    In the next day or so I am going to read your posts. Some of them sound like my thoughts. Not having enough time to see your horse, not having enough time period and making those mental “to do” lists. At work today I was thinking about a way to get over to the barn after work and it just did not work out. Like you I am also a student – part time grad school – same field. Anyhow, your Lily is a very pretty girl. Take care of yourself and hope you get to enjoy more time with Lily. PS I am turing in now for the night to get my rest 🙂

Leave a Reply

