Skip to content

Trials and Tribulations

October 22, 2009

I am currently waiting for this wonderfully gorgeous saddle to come in the mail:

891302

For those of you who followed my last saddle trial (from http://www.usedsaddles.com) I loved this saddle, which is made with shorter flaps than the average dressage saddle – perfect for my oh so short legs – and a softer leather seat, perfect for my once-broken and still-sore tailbone. Unfortunately, it didn’t fit Lily and was obvious enough that I didn’t want to test it out and cause her discomfort.

I was overjoyed when I found the same saddle in a wide tree width on http://www.trumbullmtn.com, which also allows you to try out any of their saddles, used or new, for a week before deciding if you’d like to purchase it. Plus, this saddle was $95 less than the same model in a medium width.

I called them up only to find out that they had shipped it out to a customer that morning – seriously? The wonderful woman I spoke to told me it had been sitting in the shop for months with no inquiries. Are you starting to see what kind of luck I have? I left my phone number and a plea to call whenever she heard back from the customer either way. I continued my saddle search and came up with nothing. I wanted to find another used Passier, mainly because I loved the craftsmanship and I didn’t want to start over with the fight on fit. My Collegiate that I first rode Lily in was also a medium tree, and is too wide but okay with a ThinLine pad. If there was that much of a difference between Collegiate’s tree, and Passier’s, I was scared to try a third brand. I would have no idea what to order.

Yesterday I finally received the call that the saddle did not work for the customer, and that it would be shipped to me as soon as they received it back. At last! Now what are the odds that it will actually fit Lily with a little room to spare? I’m holding my breath.

In the meantime, I’ve decided to take a break from saddles. I’ve spent the past three weeks riding bareback and loving every minute of it. There is something about a chilly day and a warm horse that go very well together. And, alas, I’ve realized that yes, I still cheat and lean forward when I don’t realize it (spooking, anyone?) but that doesn’t work bareback, and my seat is feeling more secure than it has in a long time. After awhile, I stopped noticing the saddle was missing.

Do you take voluntary breaks from your saddle, too?

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 30, 2009 7:58 pm

    yes i do take a break from the saddle..i actually ride bareback most of the time although i want to get an english one and start riding in that more!

Leave a Reply

