Skip to content

Eau de Sewage

November 9, 2009

Friday night, our apartment flooded with sewage water that came up from the kitchen sink and made its way into both of the bedrooms and part of the living room before anyone came home to discover the mess. But discover it we did, and it was nasty. Maintenance came and sucked up the water and tinkered with the pipes, and then left, saying that someone would be in touch Monday.

So we cleaned, and cleaned, and cleaned some more. We used bleach and commercial grade kitchen cleaner. But the kitchen still turned up black residue and the carpets still squished. We called management and they told us that cleaners would be up right away.

Half an hour later, they left proclaiming it “done.” Um, hello? Clearly the pads beneath the carpet were saturated, how does vacuuming the top sanitize that? They hadn’t even moved the furniture that the sewage got under. On top of that, clothes and shoes on the floor of our closets had gotten soaked through, and are beyond saving. One of my textbooks was also seriously lost in the tirade of water – conveniently, I have an 8 page paper for said class due tomorrow, as well as a test in another class.

I managed to convince the powers that be that yes, we really need new carpet. Unfortunately that means we had to evacuate immediately to a hospitality suite which (gasp!) has no internet. I’m currently using their free wi-fi in the lounge area, but that closes and I will certainly need the internet later than that as my paper relies on interviewing individuals who have yet to send me their answers to a set of questions. What’s more, my only link to the lectures and articles I am using as sources is the internet.

Who’s good at piggybacking on closed Wi Fi networks? Anyone? Theoretically, if I bring my wi-fi router down five floors, will it still work?

A few minutes ago, we frantically packed up everything we’d need and moved to this charming suite. That involved smuggling our two kitties (our roommates are getting a separate suite as the suites are one bedroom only) in duffel bags down the service elevators. They weren’t happy about it, but we’re only allowed to have two cats, and have only paid for one, but between the four roommates, we have four cats! It has been a scramble to keep them from finding out.

It has been a nightmare of a weekend! Unfortunately we didn’t have renter’s insurance, so most of what we lost won’t even be paid for. In spite of it all, I’m just glad to be out of a room that wreaked of sewage. I can’t believe that I had to strong arm them into replacing the carpet, that seems like a giant duh!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Frizzle permalink
    November 10, 2009 2:18 pm

    Eeeeeeeeeewwww! Oh my gosh, Anni, so sorry you’re having to deal with that. Fingers crossed that it gets resolved soon.
    I would help with the computer problems, but I am technilogically inept, so I will just send you good thoughts.

  2. Frizzle permalink
    November 10, 2009 2:19 pm

    Hhhmmmm, methinks I need to check for typ-os before I hit “Submit Comment.” Um, yeah, I meant “technologically,” lol.

  3. alittlefaith16 permalink*
    November 11, 2009 11:58 am

    Thanks, Meghann! I actually just brought our router down here to the guest room, and it worked. Phew!

    We’re fighting management tooth and nail right now, though, they seem to think it’s okay not to replace the carpet, but only sections of the padding.

Leave a Reply

