Skip to content

Inspiration

November 24, 2009

I have had a thoroughly non-horsey week since I’ve been studying for finals (which are finally over as of 9:30 this morning!) but I did manage to watch some videos to motivate myself to give Lily a wonderful ride tomorrow.

I thought I’d share with you this video of Steffan Peters which I enjoy watching for a few different reasons:

1) It’s a warm-up as I believe warm-ups should be (but too often aren’t): he’s loosening Ravel up, getting in tune with him, and preparing him mentally for the ride ahead.

2)  It’s an example of a wonderful dressage rider posting, which we really don’t get to see that often. I’ve found that in my own riding, posting to the trot is the one thing that I continually let myself get sloppy with (good old hunter posting, anyone?) and since there is so much emphasis on the sitting trot in dressage, it’s easy to watch dozens of videos and not even see a posting trot.

3) Simply put, I think Steffan Peters is one of the few U.S. dressage riders who doesn’t over-ride, and who truly has a partnership with his horse.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2009 5:00 pm

    Very interesting. I had not before realized how BIG Ravel is, he has a lot of bone! I like Steffen Peters as well, almost as much as I like Robert Dover’s rides — because the horses are relaxed and happy in their work. What’s up with the sproingy lower leg though, it seems like he is constantly bumping Ravel — keeping up that phenomenal impulsion maybe?

  2. alittlefaith16 permalink*
    November 24, 2009 5:37 pm

    Yeah, I was wondering that too. Obviously they’re not lateral cues the whole time, because he’s doing it even on the straightaway. But does have some wonderful impulsion there. They’re a joy to watch.

Leave a Reply

